Co-op Members Elect New Board of Directors

On October 29, the Co-op announced the results of its election for the board of directors. With 26.1% of the membership voting, Jodie Huegerich became the newest member of the board, filling the seat vacated by outgoing board member Terry Stewart. In addition, incumbents Joy Thorson and Tom Wickersham were elected to serve another term.

Huegerich is a dietitian currently serving as the local food program manager at the University of Northern Iowa. She has been instrumental in working with producers in the region to grow the local food system. “The Co-op can also be a community information hub to provide education on our local food system, local producers, healthy choices, and other related events in our community,” she said.

Recently retired after 38 years at the University of Northern Iowa, and an active community volunteer, Thorson just completed her first term on the Co-op’s board. During that time she took over as the chair of its membership committee. “I am passionate to be an integral part of seeing the Co-op to opening,” she said.

Wickersham is the program director at the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa, and just completed his second term on the Co-op’s board. He has served as the board president since incorporation in 2014. “I believe in the Co-op’s mission and ability to transform the greater Cedar Valley into a healthier, more sustainable place to live,” he said.

They join current directors Paige Everly, Kate Gallagher Dunning, Christine Sexton, and Sally Rayzor. The board is leading the efforts to establish a community owned grocery store in or near downtown Cedar Falls. The Co-op currently has over 1,000 members and hopes to announce a location by early 2020.

The Co-op extends its sincere appreciation for outgoing board member Terry Stewart. He has served on the Co-op’s board since 2016 and has been helping lead the operations committee. Stewart will continue his service as a key member of the site selection team.

Co-op member-owners who are interested in helping this effort are encouraged to join a committee or the board. You can join a committee at any time. The next board election will take place in the summer of 2020. Interested volunteers are encouraged to contact us at

Leave a Reply